Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Events and News

G8 Leaders Agree to Extend Global Partnership Beyond 2012

As a response to the historical changes underway in Middle East and North African countries (MENA), the Deauville Partnership launched at the G8 Summit in May 2011.  It provides the concerned countries with a framework for partnership based on:  a political process to support democratic transition; an economic framework for transparent, accountable government; and sustainable and inclusive economic growth.  The economic framework of the Deauville Partnership is tailored to support each country’s economic program in the following areas:

1) Governance, transparency, and accountability of economic activities;

2) Social and economic inclusion;

3) Economic modernization and job creation;

4) Private sector led economic growth; and

5) Regional and global integration.


On April 11-12, 2012 the U.S. and Jordan co-hosted a meeting in Jordan of the G8 Deauville Partnership with Arab Countries in Transition.  The focus of this meeting was to advance sustainable economic growth through a focus on trade and investment. 

The Deauville Partnership is composed of the following members:

  • G-8: Canada, European Union, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, United Kingdom, United States
  • Partner countries: Egypt, Jordan, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia
  • Regional countries: Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, UAE
  • International Financial Institution Platform:  African Development Bank (AfDB); Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development (AFESD); Arab Monetary Fund (AMF); European Investment Bank (EIB); European Bank for Reconstruction and Development  (EBRD); International Finance Corporation (IFC); International Monetary Fund (IMF); Islamic Development Bank (IsDB); OPEC Fund for International Development  (OFID) ; World Bank (WB); Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD)